Why We Need Record Store Day

9 Apr

Remember that date so you can go out there and support your local record store – I’m pretty unfortunate in that I don’t have hundreds near me like the “good” people of NME who decided a couple of days ago that it’d be a great idea to be “edgy” and slam the whole notion of the day. Please read the post by this despicable man before reading the rest of my post.

Done that? Good. Hopefully the blood will now be boiling or for the more serene of you who like chillwave, at least simmering like a slightly underdone tomato soup. So now I present to you… the reason why Rick whats-his-face is undeniably wrong about Record Store Day:

1. Physical Singles? Are you nuts? Anyone notice how this chump seems to only focus on singles in physical format rather than actual albums? Notice how he sadly got rid of 80% of his CD collection? That my friends is a person who doesn’t appreciate music. Now, I don’t go round smelling my new purchases and trying to get the musical equivalent of new car smell out of the latest Kills album but buying physical albums is a Good Thing. There’s that kind of special packaging you get occasionally which sort of adds to the majesty of the album inside. Take Bjork’s 2007 album Volta:

Admittedly this picture doesn’t give you the best impression but it was a box of tricks filled with goodies that no downloader could hope to get their virtual paws on.

2. B-Sides? What about album tracks? This annoyed me a lot – Rick whoeverheis decided that you can get B-Sides while downloading and yeah you’re probably right (although all the singles I’ve looked at have an increasingly poor level of B-Sides to the point where now you just get the one song for an inflated price)…. but doesn’t that mask the increasing problem that people just don’t know any new material by a band except their singles because, hmmm, I dunno, they don’t actually buy the whole bloody album!? I’m not the biggest fan of Elbow (yes, shame on me) but they impressed me when they said their last album The Seldom Seen Kid was meant to be listened to in its entirety, not just a couple of implausibly anthemic tunes here and there. Oh and there’s that feeling you get when you find an album track that you love, that you’d never have heard had you not actually bought that album. Here’s a song I loved from the latest Hercules and Love Affair album which is stuck right at the rear end for no-one to hear:

So who can argue with that? I’m sick of people saying they only want bands to play the hits or singles. Whatever happened to overall feel, eh?

3. Creppy? Weird? Er, try sociable. Rick whosits seems to have a general problem with the overall staff situation in record shops. Well sorry but I’ve only ever found staff in big chains – apart from a couple of exceptions – to be faceless idiots who if you ask them where you can find the Taragana Pyjarama EP they either don’t know what you’re talking about or lead you in completely the wrong direction (trust me: one year I wanted to buy that album by Youssou N’Dour – the one where he sings through the Koran – for my mum, and when I asked where it might be I was half-led to the metal section. Seriously.)

What was honestly the point of highlighting the Day-V Lately advert for Yellow Pages as an example of record store incompetency? Surely the fact that Day-V went to those stores INSTEAD of the chains or even looking on Amazon was like him saying “I have faith that you might have this despite its obscurity and relative niche appeal in the year 2011”. Besides, he obviously rings an indepndent store in the end so he doesn’t fail in his mission – he just has to search around a bit longer than the rest of us. Oh, here’s the Day-V advert if you don’t know what I’m harping on about:

So there. Put a sock in it Rick, you don’t know what you’re missing/ talking about. Interestingly the NME decieed it would be a Good Idea to cover their tracks a bit with a new blog post abuot why we need Record Store Day (proabably they caused so much outrage that they had to balance the books – and rightly so, although it shows a complete lack of balls).

The answer of course is: yes we do. With the high street going down the pan and people becoming nicreasingly mainstream in their music choices we need record stores to bring out the best in alternative music with a knowledge that outshines others. If I had one – yes that’s right there isn’t a single one near me – independent store near me you could guarantee it’d be my summer job. Either that or I’d just buy their whole stock.

On April 16th, support your local record store!

2 Responses to “Why We Need Record Store Day”

  1. Pie April 9, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Briiliant!

    I don’t have a record store near me either, unfortunately, but as a concept, I’m absolutely for it.

    Buying whole albums opens you up to some fabulous stuff, most of it better than the singles. We must expand our aural universe and what better way to do this than go to an independent and gain knowledge from the people behind the counter. Anyway, being weird is not necessarily a bad thing – it can make you more interesting!

    That NME journalist has had too many freebies for too long. Maybe a spell working in an independent record store will cure him of his stupidity.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why We Need Record Store Day (via Scarlet’s Culture Garden) « Indie69 Indie Music and Culture - April 9, 2011

    […] Remember that date so you can go out there and support your local record store – I’m pretty unfortunate in that I don’t have hundreds near me like the “good” people of NME who decided a couple of days ago that it’d be a great idea to be “edgy” and slam the whole notion of the day. Please read the post by this despicable man before reading the rest of my post. Done that? Good. Hopefully the blood will now be boiling or for the more serene of you w … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

