iTunes Single of the Week Review #8

15 Oct

It’s hard to know where to start with this odd blast from the past. I presume there must still be a market for this kind of music out there since someone’s gone to the trouble of making it. But I can’t work out why we’d want to expose ourselves to cheesy 90s trance with random bits of sampling going at 140RPM. That’s exactly what Danny Byrd does here. I was a bit hopeful when iTunes said that he distilled “funk” but I’m not sure where the funk is here – someone stole it from Byrd in the 90s obviously. Or they’re using “funk” to mean “stuck in a 90s rut” which would be more appropriate. I gave this two stars, but the second star is mainly for effort and an enthusiasm to keep this kind of music alive and kicking at least 15 years after it was deemed acceptable. For the record I listened for 1 minute, 19 seconds before I deleted the song. See how long you last:

One Response to “iTunes Single of the Week Review #8”

  1. Pie October 21, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    As I wasn’t off my face on ‘E’, Miaow Miaow, Kattomeat or whatever is going around these days, I was only able to endure it for 30 seconds and I fear even that was too generous. The funk had left that tune a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

