iTunes Single of the Week Review #6

2 Oct

I’m not a massive fan of RnB, and perhaps the closest I get to listening to any of it willingly is when I stick on TV On The Radio (I know, hardly Kanye West). I do, however, harbour a love of soul music and I have a soft spot for “Golddigger” (you know that song they sang in Glee but I liked it before then). Aloe Blacc mixes the two together finely on “I Need A Dollar”. The simple vocal style and presentation of the lyrics reminds me a lot of Gil Scott-Heron’s “The Bottle” and that’s never a bad thing. I am, however, surprised that it took so long for this song to get released, since I heard it a good few months ago. It was kinda worth the wait though.

Leave a Reply

