Simon’s Cat Redux

4 Aug

Simon’s Cat was a topic I featured on my old blog a couple of years ago because I loved it so much. I have no idea why, but the other day I wondered if any more of the lovingly crafted, warm and funny animations had been added to YouTube and there were more, to my delight. The idea behind them is really straightforward: it’s about a mischievous cat who terrorises his owner by making increasingly zany attempts to get his attention and, ultimately, get fed.

This one is my favourite from the older animations, “Let Me In”. This should show anyone why you should always have a catflap:

This is one of the less-watched animations, called “Fly Guy”. It’s also one of the longer films, but is very fun. I like it when Simon’s Cat hides under the newspaper. And I had no idea that cats really did tear curtains up. I thought that was an urban legend:

Well hope you enjoyed those. Again, this isn’t a very new idea at all but it always brings a smile to my face!

2 Responses to “Simon’s Cat Redux”

  1. amymckie August 4, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Heh. I LOVE Simon’s Cat! All of them. I try to pick a favorite and I just keep listing them all. The sleeping one is funny too.

  2. pienbiscuits August 27, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    The person who created these has to be a cat owner. I laughed in recognition as I used to own cats myself. My favourite bit from ‘Let Me In’ is when the owner finally opens the door and is left waiting as the cat takes his own good time deciding whether to come in or not. Trust me, that’s what cats do!

Leave a Reply

