Jeans: The Illusion

21 Mar

Perhaps the white and pink floral print gives it away a bit but these jeans aren’t jeans – they’re leggings. Yes, that’s right. We had the 3/4 length black affair a couple of years ago, then we had a break and everyone started wearing coloured tights. But now they’re back – sneakily!

Occassionally some girl will wear black full-length leggings but they’re the brave ones, the ones who can safely say “Yeah I’m wearing leggings as trousers and I don’t care that it shows every lump and bump of my legs and bum, that’s just me”. Kudos to you, I don’t think I could ever be that obvious. For those of us, then, who want to look like we’ve made an effort to hide the unfortunate areas of the lower half of our bodies, we have jean-look leggings. Blue is the most popular color, for obvious reasons, but as the pic above shows, there’s no limit to what can be done with this new trend.

So some of you might be saying to yourself: “Why would I want a piece of clothing that clings so much to everything?” Well, you could be right. If you’re over a certain size or a certain age then this look just won’t work.

However, have you ever noticed how when you go to buy a pair of skinny jeans they never have your exact size? Your leg length could be fine but you’ll have to tie your belt incredibly tight to hide the mountains of material around your tummy? You’re like me and can get a good hip size but there’s an extra foot of leg length at the bottom? Yeah, I know, it’s annoying. So this could just be the perfect solution to that skinny-jeans dilemma. They’ll never look as classy as a pair of perfectly-fitted skinny jeans but hey, I’m not complaining about that compromise!

2 Responses to “Jeans: The Illusion”

  1. suyeonb13 March 24, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    They look so comfortable, I’m tempted to go on the internet right now and get some! I agree with finding skinny jeans that fit you right in every part of your legs. Those are some interesting leggings. I would really like some! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

    • scarletsculturegarden March 24, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

      I have to go find some too – I bet they’re cooler than jeans in the summer!

Leave a Reply

